Prone to wander?

Posted: November 19, 2013 in Theology

Prone to wander, Lord I feel it
Prone to leave the God I love

I really don’t want to sing that to God. I’m not sure He wants to hear it either. Carrie certainly wouldn’t want me to sing that to her. Imagine writing a love song to your babe where you include how attractive and appealing your heart finds other ladies, and how it really feels like at any minute you may just commit adultery. Also the line seems to identify the real “I” as sin, instead of with the new “I” created in Christ Jesus for good works, which is the essence of the New Covenant. I feel much more comfortable singing:

Prone to repent and love my Jesus
Prone to seek the God I love

Leave a Reply

