As I Entered My Teens

Posted: May 2, 2012 in Theology

As I entered my teens, church and all it represented bored me.  Dad and mom made me attend, but aside from giving me a chance to pal around with my friends and relatives, it was something to be endured.  I wasn’t the only one who felt that way.  In fact, I became accustomed to seeing the older men nod off to sleep during most of the services.  I figured I wouldn’t have to worry about getting serious about religion until I was closer to dying.  In the meantime I was going to have some fun.

Gerald Derstine, Following The Fire, p. 21.

Leave a Reply

