Recent Gear Musings

Posted: August 27, 2007 in Guitars

Saturday I spent some time at the local chapter of guitar Wal-Mart: Guitar Center. While there I played through a reissue 65 Fender Deluxe Reverb with a standard strat and a Line 6 Flextone III with a PRS singlecut SE. Of course I plucked around on a variety of other guitars but with the same old conclusion: I love my Washburn. It just feels like home, and it’s got better build construction than most Epiphones and the lower cost Gibsons.

In terms of amps, I really felt like my home setup sounds just brilliant = Washburn WI64 ->PODXT Live ->Boss RC-2 ->Crate Powerblock ->Peavey 4×12 cab + Kustom 1×15 cab. Below are some pics (in order of signal chain).

my-guitar.jpgline6_podxtlive.jpgrc2.jpgslant.jpgkustom.jpg

I had real trouble getting pleasing tones out of the Flextone – it never gave me shimmer. The Deluxe, on the other hand, was more pleasing, but I have to admit that what I really wanted to do was to open it up a bit and hear the tubes – I’m a bit too shy or considerate to inflict alone-in-the-basement volume levels on total strangers who apparently want to chunk away on drop d metal while I bend away on the high e at the 12th fret.

The only problem I have with my current setup is portability. Getting the 4×12 and 1×15 to the first floor of the house is a two person job – which should be no big deal except I don’t have a practice amp upstairs or for carport jamming. Incidentally, this is a major reason why I haven’t used my electric at church yet.  Getting my stuff there and back is too big of a job.  So there’s only one solution: wealthy benefactor to buy me the Deluxe as my upstairs/carport/church amp…Or I could come to terms with the reality that a beautiful sounding rig that isn’t portable isn’t usable – with the implication that I could sell my beloved gear on ebay for a disappointing pittance (the resale on Peavey and Crate gear is peanuts folks), and then use the money to begin my great tone quest for the perfect mid-size combo amp. Really I wish I could get Derek Trucks’ Super Reverb tones…Of course the Super isn’t exactly tiny. Or cheap.

So, being the patient master of delayed gratification that I am, I’ll just keep playing acoustic upstairs and electric downstairs. I feel a guitar geek comment from Sam coming in my near future…

Comments
  1. Daniel says:

    Hey Tim,

    I agree to everything. My problem was the portability of my amps, too so I decided to use the middle course with an 2×12″ Amp. It’s the Crate GT212 and I’m comfortable with it cause the clean and crunch channel comes very close to an tube amp. But certainly you’re right, Crate amps are of little value if they’re second hand …

    Howevery, unfortunately we have to accept compromise ;-(

    Greetings from germany, Daniel.

  2. Sam says:

    yup. However, I feel your pain (but in reference to bicycles). I don’t have nearly enough to suit my variegated “needs.”

  3. Carrie says:

    Man, that was boring.

  4. goofydawg says:

    Hmm… looks like you like that “Fender clean” tone. The DR is nice, but have you checked out the Hot Rod Deluxe? A bit cheaper in price, but I found that it has tons more clean headroom than the DR. It’s also very loud… 🙂 You can usually get one for around $600. I love my HRD!

    BTW, I also have a Flextone III XL that I rarely use now. It’s a great amp for recording, but it’s not very good for live performance. Probably has to do with the speaker. There’s just not enough

    GoofyDawg

Leave a Reply

