Theology Impractical?

Posted: April 20, 2007 in Theology

I was talking with a certain unnamed pastor the other week and I mentioned that I love theology and could talk about it constantly. He made a bit of a disapproving face and said that he wasn’t interested in academics. That got my panties in a bunch, so to speak, and they haven’t gotten unbunched as of yet, so let me get this off my chest.

When I say “theology”:

  • I am talking about the God who made me
  • I am talking about the God who keeps me safe as I drive on the road
  • I am talking about the God who provides food and shelter
  • I am talking about the God who sent his Son to die for my sins and be raised for my justification
  • I am talking about the God who will never leave me nor forsake me and is present to help me be a better husband, a better father, a more joyful person
  • I am talking about the God who freed the Israelites from bondage in Egypt
  • I am talking about the God who spoke through the prophets
  • I am talking about the God who spoke most fully in his Son, the exact representation of his being
  • I am talking about the God who I constantly ask for help as I read books, write papers, clean the house, read books to my son, change diapers
  • I am talking about the God who is with me when I get up and when I lie down
  • I am talking about the God of the past
  • I am talking about the God of the present
  • I am talking about the God of the future
  • I am talking about the Holy Trinity: Father, Son, and Holy Spirit
  • I am talking about God transcendent, and God immanent
  • I am talking about the God of the 14 billion year old universe and the five day old kitten
  • I am talking about the God of the Himalayas and the God who makes each daisy bloom with as much joy as if it were the first one he ever made
  • daisy.jpg

  • I am talking about the God of ultimate concerns and the God of daily needs
  • I am talking about the God of sunsets, harvest moons, and iced tea
  • I am talking about the God of Handel’s Messiah, and the God of Gabriel’s Jesus Loves Me
  • I am talking about the God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob
  • I’m not talking about academics except as it entails loving God with all my heart, mind, soul, and strength and as it entails speaking the truth as clearly and accurately as I know how
  • I am just talking about God
Comments
  1. Sylvia Rhodes says:

    AMEN!!

  2. Josh says:

    Um. Yes. We may be talking about those things, but sometimes that doesn’t come out. I distinctly remember hating theology (before I was a Bib/Theo major) because I thought it caused too much confusion and arguments. Now I love exploring the complexities of life and God and love and humanity and relationships and redemption.

    Good post, my friend.

  3. tdmiller says:

    You’ll notice the first person personal pronoun throughout. Another post for another time would be What Will James and I were talking about–where Barth talks about what constitutes “a theologian” in his book “Evangelical Theology.” It’s much closer to Keirkegaard’s concept of a Christian, rather than the stereotype of a professional theoretician.

    Short version: a theologian is a person whose whole self is abandoned to God–not as chipper and happy a concept as it first may seem. I gotta go.

Leave a Reply

