“Dadada”

Posted: April 10, 2007 in Home Life, Theology


Actually Gabe and I had Ramen noodles for lunch–which he really enjoys.

Yesterday Israel started saying “dadada.” Now he’s going crazy with it–the little fat white rapper.

Again I have the boys, and today Gabe had his drumsticks taken away for hitting the lamp, and “his” guitar taken away for pounding the headstock on the ground in moments of dramatic exaggerated bluesisms. He gets in this music mode where he tunes out the rest of the stimuli around him, including his chastising father’s repeated instructions to NOT slam the guitar against the ground.

Currently both boys (and the dog) are sleeping.

I did manage to mow the front yard this morning while Israel slept and Gabe watched through the window, then Gabe “helped” me sweep the drive and then tracked wet clumpy grass on the floor. Man, that boy HATES when his feet or hands get sticky or dirty.

This pastoral job search is emotionally draining and even theologically taxing. I’ve discovered enough about Jesus’ church that I just want to cry out, “Lord, what are we doing down here?” I did cry out yesterday and I felt like he spoke right back and said, “Tim, I do most of my work in spite of people.”

A few weeks back Pastor Doug asked if it wasn’t time we stop lamenting the state of the church and instead dream about what the church could be, and then work to make the dream a reality. If we do that then perhaps God could do more of his work with us rather than in spite of us.

Comments
  1. Lynette says:

    Um, this was the highlight of my week thus far…I was laughing so hard when I read this…

    ” today Gabe had his drumsticks taken away for hitting the lamp, and “his” guitar taken away for pounding the headstock on the ground in moments of dramatic exaggerated bluesisms. He gets in this music mode where he tunes out the rest of the stimuli around him, including his chastising father’s repeated instructions to NOT slam the guitar against the ground”

Leave a Reply

