“Vacation”

Posted: April 4, 2007 in Theology

We’re in VA for the week, which is supposed to be my spring break, but seeing as I have two papers due this week, its been more intense than a usual week. Last night I told Carrie that I feel like I have a sunburn on my brain.

I’ve been working on a word study for the verbal stem for “to prophesy,” but first I accidentally spent a whole day studying not just the verbal stem but all uses of the root (abn) in the Old Testament. I can’t say that it was a waste because it is Scripture, and it was fascinating, but that did set me back a bit.

What did I learn about prophecy? Perhaps anyone who wants to read it can just go ahead (tim-miller-word-study.doc), and graciously excuse the typos because my brain switched off at some point and “you can’t edit with a sick mind.”

The next paper is for Bioethics and is an evaluation of whether our funerals line up with what we believe about death. An interesting question, no doubt. Edith said she doesn’t want us to waste $3,000 on a casket; she’d rather just donate her body to science. I think a simple pine box will be fine for me.
pine-box.jpg
I won’t write the paper here, but I believe a Christian funeral ought to have the character of a worship service and should frame the person’s life with the big picture of what Christ has done and will do. For Christians there’s no saying good-bye, only “See you soon.”

Comments
  1. Aimee says:

    Yeah, why waste money on a casket indeed. Pine would be fine for me also . . . simple. And in heaven that’s what I think we will be telling anyway, what Christ has done for us . . .

    – Aimee

  2. Japheth says:

    Hey Tim!
    You probably don’t know me much since Aimee and I have so seldom been east there, but your probably know us more by our blogs, eh? 🙂

    We are looking at doing something really different here at Kitchi Pines. (our church) We realize that in our society, it may seem sac religious to show such disgrace for the human body to callusly put it in a plain board box. That it may look like a diss to the departed one. We as Christians know that it is now an empty shell, yet for the rest of the world, it is all they have to hold onto, a dead body.

    What we are going to do is make a very nice casket (we have a woodworker in our church who makes them) but we will have a plain plywood removable liner in it. It will be lined with nice fabric and such, and would look very nice and ordinary during the viewing and funeral. But when we would get to the graveside, we would simply lift the plywood box out of the fancy coffin, and lower that into the ground. Then we could simply make a new liner for the box and store it in the back of the church till we would need it again.

    One thing that is also different here from where I grew up in PA, is that we fill the grave back in by hand as part of the graveside service. It seemed really cold and callus at first to me, but after having gone through several sudden funerals, I realize that it really does help bring a final closing to death. Much more so than simply walking away from an open grave and come back a week later to a sodded over spot, if you get what I mean.

    For the world, death is final. For the Christian, death is just the beginning!! Hallelujah!!!

Leave a Reply

